Ice Writes: 1 – 52 Update, Week 11

Another week down, another story down.

This week’s story had it’s ups and downs. I didn’t start from scratch. I completely overhauled an old story I had written. This meant it was slightly easier because I already had that idea, that story base to work on. However, I actually found this really hard.

The parts of the story I really liked that I didn’t want to scratch, I had to fight and justify and write around to keep them in. Saying that, this story is barely recognisable from it’s previous form (which was published under a different title).

And I wanted it that way. I’ve learnt a lot from when I first started writing, during my degree (about 3 years ago), and hopefully this overhaul reflects this.

I chose to overhaul an older story this week because I’ve been doing some work on one of my novels, Dare To Rise.

For those who are novelist, you know how much prep goes into these things. For those who aren’t, you lucky things.

I’ve been working on this story for years, and I keep planning and then writing and then scrapping because I wasn’t happy, but I’m starting from scratch, including the planning stages again, and I think I’m finally on track.

So expect to hear more over the next few weeks!

1 – 52 Challenge Stats

Week: 11

Completed Stories: 11

Total Word Count: 15,114 words.

This Week’s Story: Broken Rainbow

Realism

With Jessie’s boyfriend standing between her and the front door, she must fight to remember what happened that made her want to leave before she ends up in a life with no escape.

Genres: Sci-Fi, Dystopia, Romance, Horror (Gore), Realism

Stories: The Dead Love With Clockwork Hearts, Glitched – Ava 2057, Ticking Out Of Time, Eighty Seven, Bloody Mary, Red, Hope and Heartache, Let the Sun Shine, Memories, Brake

Check out the loglines for the other stories here

Leave a comment